Announcing the 2021 Provost's Teaching Fellows Cohort

Round table with eight people having a discussion. They are generally smiling and looking happy.

The Provost's Teaching Fellows are excited to announce the members of the 2021 PTF Cohort, who were selected from a competitive group of applicants. This year's cohort includes faculty who teach across 7 colleges and 13 departments, reaching students on virtually every corner of the 40 Acres.  We are also proud to note that this cohort includes the largest percentage of Non-Tenure Track, Teaching, and Professional faculty in the program's history.

The Office of the Senior Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs and the Senior Vice Provost for Academic Affairs offered support for this year’s Provost’s Teaching Fellows cohort to empower UT’s best and brightest professional teaching faculty to create cultures of change in their departments and colleges. 

Please join us in congratulating the 2021 PTF Cohort:

Wenhong Chen, Associate Professor, School of Journalism and Media and Department of Radio-Television-Film, Moody College of Communication

Tanya Clement, Associate Professor, Department of English, College of Liberal Arts (Also School of Information)

Tara Craig, Assistant Professor of Instruction, Department of Mathematics, College of Natural Sciences

Natalie Czimskey, Lecturer, Department of Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences, Moody College of Communication

Shelly Rodriguez, Associate Professor of Practice, UTeach Natural Sciences, College of Natural Sciences

Julie Schell, Assistant Dean for Instructional Continuity and Innovation and Assistant Professor of Practice, College of Fine Arts (Also College of Education)

Ruth Shear, Professor of Practice, TIDES/Department of Chemistry, College of Natural Sciences

Sarah Sloan, Clinical Associate Professor, Steve Hicks School of Social Work

Gwendolyn Stovall, Assistant Professor of Practice, TIDES, College of Natural Sciences

Louis Waldman, Associate Professor, Department of Art and Art History, College of Fine Arts (Also Department of French and Italian, College of Liberal Arts)

Amy Nathan Wright, Assistant Professor of Instruction, Human Dimensions of Organizations, College of Liberal Arts


The Provost's Teaching Fellows Program empowers faculty to advance education in two ways: through individual initiatives that improve teaching and learning at UT, and through campus-wide events that promote the quality of education and its status in the campus culture. The PTF Program operates in conjuction with and is supported by the Faculty Innovation Center.