Faculty Innovation Center Directory

Directors

Hillary Hart

Director
hart@mail.utexas.edu
(512) 471-4635 ECJ 8.214

Leslie Hall

Associate Director
leslie.hall@austin.utexas.edu (512) 232-2645 FAC 213Z

Josh Walker

Associate Director
josh.walker@austin.utexas.edu (512) 232-2651 SZB 458
Bio

Josh Walker

Associate Director

Ph.D

josh.walker@austin.utexas.edu

As an Instructional Specialist, Josh Walker works with faculty to apply the best of what we know about how people learn toward developing and implementing instructional approaches that work.   Josh specializes in designing active and interactive learning environments that help students develop as critical and creative thinkers.  Josh earned a B.A. in both Psychology and Religion from East Texas Baptist University, an M.A. in Educational Psychology focusing on Program Evaluation, as well a Ph.D. in Educational Psychology, focusing on Learning, Cognition, Instruction, and Motivation from The University of Texas at Austin.

(512) 232-2651SZB 458

Staff

Wafa Amayreh

Graduate Research Assistant, Graduate Student Development Program
wafa.amayreh@austin.utexas.edu SZB 450F

Adria Battaglia

Curriculum and Instructional Designer
abattaglia@austin.utexas.edu (512) 475-6057 SZB 450J

Anne Braseby

Faculty Development Specialist
anne.braseby@austin.utexas.edu (512) 232-1774 SZB 450R
Bio

Anne Braseby

Faculty Development Specialist

Ph.D

anne.braseby@austin.utexas.edu

After teaching for 25 years, Anne joined the staff of CTL as a Faculty Development Specialist, working specifically with faculty to develop collaborative learning both inside and outside the classroom. She facilitates Faculty Learning Communities across the university campus that provide a rich and rewarding forum for faculty to learn with and from their peers. She develops and presents faculty workshops on many topics from designing student led outcomes to student engagement in the classroom. She obtained her Master’s degree from Boulder Colorado and her Ph.D. from Florida International University in Miami Florida.

(512) 232-1774SZB 450R

Carlton Fong

Coordinator, Graduate Student Instructor Program
carlton.fong@utexas.edu (512) 232-4374 SZB 450T

Chad Fulton

Project Manager
chad@austin.utexas.edu (512) 232-2636 SZB 450K

Mario Guerra

Project Manager
mariog@austin.utexas.edu (512) 475-6347 SZB 450G

Molly Hatcher

Program Coordinator, Graduate Student Development
molly.hatcher@austin.utexas.edu (512) 232-5181 SZB 450G

Karron Lewis

Associate Director for Instructional Consultation
kglewis@austin.utexas.edu (512) 232-1776 SZB 450S
Bio

Karron Lewis

Associate Director for Instructional Consultation

Ph.D

kglewis@austin.utexas.edu

Karron is Associate Director for Instructional Consultation where she mentors other CTL Instructional Consultants and consults one-to-one with faculty from all across the UT Campus.   She works with departments who are developing peer review strategies and conducts training for peer reviewers.  Karron has been involved in faculty and TA development at the University of Texas at Austin since 1978.  She has published and presented widely on faculty development strategies, individual consultation and interpreting student evaluation feedback.   Karron earned a B.M.Ed. (Bachelor of Music Education) from Texas Lutheran University and a Ph.D. in Educational Curriculum and Instruction from Texas A&M University.

(512) 232-1776SZB 450S

Matt Russell

Blended & Digital Pedagogy Design Specialist
matthew.russell@austin.utexas.edu (512) 232-6053 SZB 450U

Julie Stewart

Instructional Specialist
julie.stewart@austin.utexas.edu (512) 232-2640 SZB 450T
Bio

Julie Stewart

Instructional Specialist

Ph.D

julie.stewart@austin.utexas.edu

As an instructional specialist, Julie works with departments and faculty.  Her professional interest is the development and implementation of learning-centered classroom environments. She has worked in teaching and learning from numerous perspectives: as researcher and assessment specialist here at UT, as program director for curricular and instructional development initiatives at the University of Chicago, as faculty member in curriculum and instruction at Loyola University, as editor of the Harvard Education Review, and as a high school English teacher in Texas. She has an Ed.D. in Teaching and Learning from Harvard University and an MA in English.

(512) 232-2640SZB 450T

Noah Stroehle

Instructional Technology Specialist
noah@austin.utexas.edu (512) 232-1770 SZB 450J

Mike Wallace

Teaching and Learning Design Consultant, Website Manager
mike.wallace@austin.utexas.edu (512) 232-4796 SZB 450P
Bio

Mike Wallace

Teaching and Learning Design Consultant, Website Manager

Ph.D

mike.wallace@austin.utexas.edu

As a consultant, Mike serves as a catalyst who brings ideas and people together to help faculty innovate in their courses.  Mike’s primary professional interest is in hybrid/blended learning where active learning, collaboration, technology, and self-regulated learning create opportunities for students to deepen their understanding. As a faculty member in science education at Morehead State University, he transformed his own courses into an inquiry-based physcial science course for elementary teachers, science methods for elementary teachers, a freshmen-level physical science course, and leadership courses.  Mike earned a B.S. in Electrical Engineering, M.S. in Physics, and a Ph.D. in Science Education from the University of Missouri-Columbia.

(512) 232-4796SZB 450P